Ambition is the path to success. Persistence is the vehicle you arrive in. – Bill Bradley

 

One of the reasons I started this blog is because I wanted to improve my writing. It wasn’t the only reason, but it was definitely one of them. I knew that the best way for me to do this was to write, and write often.

I made a promise to myself that I would try to write something – anything – everyday for at least 30 days. And here I am, on the third day with only 19 minutes left, finally getting round to writing this post. But, I am writing it.

Procrastination is an interesting concept when you think about it. A lot of people would label themselves as a ‘procrastinator’, leaving things to the last minute, needing to work under pressure. I don’t think that’s necessarily the case for me. Perhaps I’m scared of not producing a piece of work that is ‘good enough’. Whatever the reason, this was something I was motivated to do three days ago, and today it took me until I had less than half an hour in the day to get around to doing.

Until I reminded myself tonight of the reason I wanted to do this in the first place, I just couldn’t be bothered. I didn’t have a good enough topic to write about. I had too many other things I needed to do.

Sometimes in life you just need to take a step back and remind yourself why you’re doing something. Tonight that helped me write this. Is it world-changing? No. Is it the best bit of text ever written? No. But is it more than I was writing a week ago? Yes.

Leave a comment