Perspective has been a big topic for me recently. I think it’s an important thing to have and can genuinely help people to live better lives. I mentioned this in my post: My Eulogy… a couple of days ago. It’s almost serendipitous (probably the incorrect word in this context…) that I find a video that builds upon this a couple of days later.

I have recently discovered the wonderful ‘School of Life’ videos. An unusual combination of entertaining, thoughtful and pragmatic; they explore philosophy, psychology, literature and art in order to help people live.

They state that they’re “devoted to emotional education”, the kind of things we’re never taught in school, but are essential to living life – love, work and being forgiving and patient with ourselves are some of the bigger topics they try to draw upon. If this sounds like you, I would thoroughly recommend looking at a couple of their videos.

At the time of writing they had just posted a video entitled ‘Reasons to Remember Death’. While it may seem (initially) quite a morbid topic to focus upon, it actually has a lot of power in focusing the mind and prioritising – much like writing one’s own Eulogy. We seem to almost obsess about issues that actually pale in comparison to the finality of death. Realising this can actually provide the perspective for us to live a little more freely, grasping the opportunity we have to do what we really want, and express how we really feel.

 

Leave a comment